In July 2020, new winners received recognition from the New Jersey Department of Transportation, the NJ Safe Routes to School Resource Center and the eight Transportation Management Associations (TMAs) throughout NJ for their commitment and support of the Safe Routes to School Program. These winners are recognized for their commitment toward enabling and encouraging children to use active modes of transportation to get to and from school.

The 2020 Recipients of the New Jersey Safe Routes to School Recognition Program include winners from both schools and municipalities. Recognition is valid for three years and is bestowed on those for their work and commitment to the Safe Routes goals in 2019.

If a school or municipality is interested in receiving recognition for their efforts at fostering the Safe Routes to School goal, contact your SRTS Regional Coordinator to learn how.

Check out our website for a list of the 2020 winners of the NJ SRTS Recognition Program!  Your local SRTS Coordinator will contact you to obtain your certificate of achievement.  Furthermore, our partnership with Sustainable Jersey and Sustainable Jersey for Schools allows both schools and municipalities who are recipients of the NJ SRTS Recognition Program to earn points toward certification with Sustainable Jersey.  Click here to find out more information.

Congratulations and thank you to all of our municipalities and schools for making walking and bicycling to school a priority!