Recog Prog slider 03The New Jersey Department of Transportation and the NJ Safe Routes to School Resource Center are pleased to announce the 2017 Recipients of the New Jersey Safe Routes to School Recognition Program! These winners are recognized for their commitment and support of the Safe Routes to School program by enabling and encouraging children to walk and bike to school.

This year, there were 175 winners in all — 157 winners for the school recognition program, and 18 for the municipality recognition program. Recipients for 2017 are recognized for their work and commitment to Safe Routes to School from 2015-2016, and recognition is valid for three years.

SRTS Regional Coordinators from Transportation Management Associations across New Jersey will be honoring and awarding NJ Safe Routes to School Recognition Program winners either at their annual awards meetings or at a special ceremony. Contact your SRTS Regional Coordinator  to find out more about how to qualify for the NJ SRTS Recognition Program and to get a head start on applying for recognition next year!

Congratulations and thank you to all of our municipalities and schools for making walking and bicycling to school a priority!